Skip to content

Engineering School Shared Governance

The academic governance of the School of Engineering (SoE) at UC Merced is administered through the following shared governance structure.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee consists of the Dean of the School, ex-officio, and up to the larger of the number of undergraduate programs and seven (7) voting members of the faculty, elected annually, a vice-chair, and a chair. The responsibility of the Executive Committee is to consult with and advise the dean on all aspects of the school’s academic administration, including budget and fiscal matters, faculty recruitment and mentoring, research, and student recruitment and success.

2024-25 Membership Roster

TBA, Chair | TBA, Vice Chair

  • MCS | Management of Complex Systems - TBA (Alex Petersen, AY23-24)
  • BIOE | Bioengineering - Arvind Gopinath
  • CEE | Civil and Environmental Engineering - (Josué Medellín-Azuara AY23-24)
  • CSE | Computer Science and Engineering - Alberto Cerpa
  • EE | Electrical Engineering - Eric Cheng
  • CME | Chemical and Materials Engineering - Katherine Keske
  • ME | Mechanical Engineering - Mehmet Baykara
  • Rakesh Goel, Dean (ex-officio member)

Department Chairs

2024-25 Chairs Roster

  • Bioengineering (BIOE) - Anand Subramaniam
  • Computer Science and Engineering (CSE) - Florin Rusu
  • Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE) - Marc Beutel
  • Electrical Engineering (EE) - Sarah Kurtz
  • Mechanical Engineering (ME) - Ashlie Martini
  • Materials Science and Engineering (MSE) - Valerie Leppert
  • Management of Complex Systems (MCS) -  Leroy Westerling

Graduate Program Chairs

2024-25 Program Chairs

  • Bioengineering (BIOE) - Anand Subramaniam (aligned with Department Chair)
  • Electrical Engineering & Computer Science (EECS) - TBA (Alberto Cerpa, AY23-24)
  • Environmental Systems (ES) - Emily Moran
  • Materials and Biomaterials Science & Engineering (MBSE) - Sarah Kurtz
  • Mechanical Engineering (ME) - Mehmet Baykara
  • Management of Innovation, Sustainability and Technology (MCS/MIST) - TBA (John Abatzoglou AY23-24)

Associate Deans

  • Stefano Carpin, Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Programs
  • TBA, Associate Dean for Student Success

Faculty Equity Advisor

  • Josué Medellín-Azuara, School of Engineering FEA representative


ver. 06.30.23 - dbq