Skip to content Skip to navigation
See our Campus Ready site for the most up to date information about instruction.Campus ReadyCOVID Help

Management of Complex Systems (MCS)

Alexander M. Petersen

Alexander M. Petersen

Assistant Professor

apetersen3@ucmerced.edu

SSM 206B

  • Innovation
  • Careers
  • Complexity
  • Models of science

Anita Bhappu

Anita Bhappu

Associate Professor

abhappu@ucmerced.edu

SSM 233

  • collaborative consumption
  • employee engagement and inclusion
  • organization-sponsored sharing platforms
  • service delivery and digital retailing
  • team collaboration and workplace diversity

Catherine Keske

Catherine Keske

Associate Professor

ckeske@ucmerced.edu

SSM 231

  • Applied economics in mountainous and semi-arctic ecosystems
  • Coupled natural and human systems
  • Sustainable resource management
  • Sense of place
  • Food security and food sovereignty
  • Biomass, bioenergy, and biochar

Crystal A. Kolden Headshot

Crystal A. Kolden

Assistant Professor

ckolden@ucmerced.edu

SSM

Professor Kolden's research focuses on characterizing and understanding wildfire intersections with the human-environment system through geospatial, temporal, and mixed-methods approaches.

Jeffrey Jenkins

Jeffrey Jenkins

Assistant Professor

jjenkins8@ucmerced.edu

Social Sciences and Management 202B

  • Complex adaptive systems
  • Critical resource geography
  • Landscape values
  • Participatory mapping
  • Public lands and protected areas

John Abatzoglou Headshot

John Abatzoglou

Associate Professor

jabatzoglou@ucmerced.edu

SSM 210A

Professor Abatzoglou is interested in the hows and whys of climate and weather, and also the so whats. His lab's work spans many topics - from addressing questions on climate variability, to understanding climate impacts on natural resources, to developing climate datasets and tools. 

LeRoy Westerling

LeRoy Westerling

Professor

lwesterling@ucmerced.edu

(209) 756-8793

SSM 232

  • Applied climatology
  • Climate-ecosystem-wildfire interactions
  • Statistical modeling for seasonal forecasts, paleofire reconstructions and climate-change impact assessments
  • Resource management and policy

Lisa Yeo

Lisa Yeo

Assistant Professor

lyeo2@ucmerced.edu

SSM 204A

  • Economics of information systems
  • Security and privacy
  • Knowledge management
  • Decision support
  • Behavioral operations

Paul Maglio

Paul Maglio

Professor and Chair (MCS)

pmaglio@ucmerced.edu

SSM 206A

  • Service science
  • Human-computer interaction
  • Distributed cognition

Russ McBride

Russ McBride

Assistant Professor

rmcbride2@ucmerced.edu

SSM 202A

Entrepreneurship theory with elements of cognitive science and philosophy

Spencer Castro Headshot

Spencer Castro

Assistant Professor

scastro39@ucmerced.edu

SSM 204B

Professor Castro is interested in the capacity of attention under cognitive workload, particularly in the context of technology and multitasking. He focuses on the validity of reaction time and accuracy as measures of different aspects of workload, as well as quantifying the risk of adverse outcomes due to these workload metrics in driving. He employs advanced cognitive modeling techniques to examine the mechanisms of attentional capacity, multitasking, and performance.

Tea Lempiälä

Tea Lempiälä

Assistant Professor

tlempiala@ucmerced.edu

SSM 206A

Tracey Osborne

Associate Professor and UC Presidential Chair

tosborne@ucmerced.edu

SSM 231

  • Political ecology
  • Climate change mitigation in tropical forests
  • Climate finance
  • Global environmental governance
  • Indigenous and traditional ecological knowledge
  • Common property resource management
  • Climate justice
  • Nature-based solutions 
  • Climate communication, outreach and engagement
  • Regional expertise: Mexico and the Amazon (Ecuador, Peru, Guyana)

Subscribe to Management of Complex Systems (MCS)